Thierry Barbier-Mueller

Chief Executive Officer

T. +41 58 810 30 43

E. info@spg.ch

Thierry Barbier-Mueller

Thierry Barbier-Mueller is a property developer and real estate agent, publisher, contemporary art collector and father of five children.


A graduate of the Faculty of Law of the University of Geneva, he completed various internships in banking, finance and culture between 1981 and 1983. These internships took him to Vienna and New York where he passed the Futures Industry Association’s examination. Back in Geneva in 1984, he joined Société Privée de Gérance (SPG), founded in 1960 by his father, Jean Paul Barbier-Mueller.

He started as General Secretary of SPG and publisher of the magazine L’Information Immobilière; he was then promoted to Administrator of SPG and then Chief Executive Officer in the 90s. He participated in the development of the SPG Group which resulted in 1988 in affiliation to real-estate agency RYTZ & Cie SA, of which he was then the Administrator alongside his Vaud partners, Yves Rytz and Gérald Morand. From then on, the company was known as the SPG-Rytz group.

In autumn 1997, Thierry Barbier-Muller launched the journal named Immorama, which is aimed at the general public and is partly devoted to news of Swiss and international real estate.

The SPG-Rytz group’s network of expertise expanded from being regional to national and then international with, in 2001, the launch of a joint-venture with the Intercity Group (Zurich, Lucerne, Basel, St.-Gallen and Bern), which resulted in the creation of SPG Intercity. This commercial property specialist is the exclusive representative in Switzerland of the Cushman & Wakefield Group, which is established in about 60 countries.

In 2005, Thierry Barbier-Muller signed a partnership with Christie’s Great Estates which in the meantime became Christie’s International Real Estate, a specialist in upmarket real estate and a subsidiary of the famous British auction house.

In 2015, in the context of a controlled expansion, he took over the management of CGI Immobilier’s condominiums, thus consolidating SPG’s Pcondominium portfolio.

In a personal capacity, Thierry Barbier-Mueller has developed a construction/property development  activity, one of the most striking achievements of which was probably the glass building constructed in 2004 and located at 30 de la Route de Chêne (8,000 sq. metres of office space). Part of its contemporary garden, which was the result of an international competition, was given to the City of Geneva. In the Eaux-Vives district, he was in charge of the construction of a prestige block of offices and apartments (Minergie-certified), Le Patio de Frontenex, then the Saint-Georges Center which is an office building located in the business district of Geneva, designed by Sauerbruch Hutton, Berlin’s star architects.

Preoccupied by the aesthetic, functional and environmental quality of outside facilities in the City of Geneva, in 2009 Thierry Barbier-Mueller launched in 2009 – in partnership with hepia, Geneva’s school of landscaping, engineering and architecture – an annual competition for ideas.

In 2013, to support French-Swiss literary writing, he created the SPG Literary Award which rewards every year the first literary work of a French-Swiss author published by a Swiss publishing house.

 

Activities:

1993 – 1998, 2016 president of  Association des Promoteurs Constructeurs Genevois (APCG)
Geneva Builders’ & Developers’ Association –

2007 – 2009, president of Chambre Genevoise Immobilière (CGI)
– Geneva Real Estate Chamber

Member of Chambre suisse d’Experts en Immobilier (CEI)
Swiss Chamber of Real Estate Experts
Member of the Swiss collectors’ association.
Member of the Swiss Advisory Board of Christie’s Fine Arts.

Subscribe to SPG-Rytz group publications

<nyt_prefs> <nyt_prefix></nyt_prefix> <nyt_suffix></nyt_suffix> <nyt_base_path>~/Desktop/icons</nyt_base_path> <nyt_scaling>100</nyt_scaling> <nyt_transparency>true</nyt_transparency> <nyt_embedImage>true</nyt_embedImage> <nyt_embedFont>true</nyt_embedFont> <nyt_trimEdges>true</nyt_trimEdges> <nyt_innerPadding>false</nyt_innerPadding> <nyt_format>JPG</nyt_format> <nyt_artboards>all</nyt_artboards> <nyt_layers>all</nyt_layers> <nyt_exportArtboards>false</nyt_exportArtboards> <nyt_ignoreWarnings>false</nyt_ignoreWarnings></nyt_prefs>

<nyt_prefs> <nyt_prefix></nyt_prefix> <nyt_suffix></nyt_suffix> <nyt_base_path>~/Desktop/icons</nyt_base_path> <nyt_scaling>100</nyt_scaling> <nyt_transparency>true</nyt_transparency> <nyt_embedImage>true</nyt_embedImage> <nyt_embedFont>true</nyt_embedFont> <nyt_trimEdges>true</nyt_trimEdges> <nyt_innerPadding>false</nyt_innerPadding> <nyt_format>JPG</nyt_format> <nyt_artboards>all</nyt_artboards> <nyt_layers>all</nyt_layers> <nyt_exportArtboards>false</nyt_exportArtboards> <nyt_ignoreWarnings>false</nyt_ignoreWarnings></nyt_prefs>

Thierry Barbier-Mueller

Administrateur délégué

T. +41 58 810 30 43

E. info@spg.ch

Thierry Barbier-Mueller

Thierry Barbier-Mueller est à la fois promoteur et régisseur immobilier, éditeur, collectionneur d'art contemporain et père de cinq enfants.


Diplômé de la Faculté de Droit de l’Université de Genève, il effectue différents stages dans le domaine bancaire, financier et culturel entre 1981 et 1983. Ces stages le conduisent notamment à Vienne et à New York où il passe avec succès l’examen de la Futures Industry Association. De retour à Genève en 1984, il rejoint la Société Privée de Gérance (SPG) fondée en 1960 par son père, Jean Paul Barbier-Mueller.

D’abord Secrétaire général de la SPG et éditeur de la revue L’Information Immobilière, il devient Administrateur de la SPG puis Administrateur délégué dans les années 90. Il participe au développement du Groupe SPG qui se traduit en 1988 par l’affiliation de la SPG avec l’agence immobilière RYTZ & Cie SA dont il est dès lors l’Administrateur aux côtés de ses associés vaudois, Yves Rytz et Gérald Morand. On parle dorénavant du Groupe SPG-RYTZ.

En automne 1997, Thierry Barbier-Muller lance le journal tous-ménages Immorama, qui traite en partie de l’actualité immobilière suisse et internationale.

De régional, le réseau de compétences du Groupe SPG devient national puis international avec, en 2001, le lancement de la joint-venture avec le Groupe Intercity (Zurich, Lucerne, Bâle, Saint-Gall et Berne), donnant naissance à SPG Intercity. Ce spécialiste en immobilier commercial est le représentant exclusif en Suisse du groupe Cushman & Wakefield, présent dans une soixantaine de pays.

En 2005, Thierry Barbier-Muller signe un partenariat avec Christie’s Great Estate, devenu entre-temps Christie’s International Real Estate, spécialiste de l’immobilier haut de gamme et filiale de la célèbre maison de vente aux enchères britannique.

En 2015, dans le cadre d’une expansion maîtrisée, il reprend la gestion des copropriétés de CGI Immobilier, consolidant ainsi le portefeuille de la PPE de la SPG.

À titre personnel, Thierry Barbier-Mueller développe une activité de promotion-construction, dont une des réalisations les plus marquantes est sans doute l’immeuble de verre réalisé en 2004 et situé au numéro 30 de la Route de Chêne (8’000 m2 de bureaux). Son jardin contemporain est issu d’un concours international dont une partie a été offerte à la Ville de Genève. Il fait construire dans le quartier des Eaux-Vives un immeuble de bureaux et d’appartements de haut standing labellisé Minergie, Le Patio de Frontenex , puis le Saint-Georges Center , immeuble de bureaux situé dans le quartier des affaires de Genève, réalisé par Sauerbruch Hutton, architectes stars de Berlin.

Préoccupé par la qualité esthétique, fonctionnelle et environnementale des aménagements extérieurs en Ville de Genève, Thierry Barbier-Mueller lance en 2009, en partenariat avec l’Hepia, la Haute école du paysage, d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Genève, un concours d’idées annuel .

En 2013, afin de soutenir la création littéraire suisse romande, il crée le Prix littéraire SPG qui récompense chaque année la première œuvre littéraire d’un auteur romand publiée par une maison d’édition suisse.

Activités :

1993 – 1998, 2016 président de l’Association des Promoteurs Constructeurs Genevois (APCG).

2007 – 2009, président de la Chambre Genevoise Immobilière (CGI)

Membre de la Chambre suisse d’Experts en Immobilier (CEI)
Membre de l’Association suisse des collectionneurs.
Membre du Swiss Advisory Board de Christie’s Fine Arts.

Voir aussi:

Thierry Barbier-Mueller dans la presse

ABONNEMENT AUX PUBLICATIONS DU GROUPE SPG-RYTZ